.

Goddess Boot Camp – Tera Lynn Childs

WARNING: This review is FILLED with spoilers, so if you haven’t read Oh. My. Gods. yet, I suggest you look away now!

Summary:

Phoebe recently discovered she’s a descendent of Nike (the goddess, not the shoe), and now she’s finding out that supernatural powers come with a crazy learning curve. Her new stepfather, headmaster of the Academy for descendants of Greek gods, has enrolled her in Dynamotheos Development Camp—aka Goddess Boot Camp—with a bunch of ten-year-olds for the summer. Embarrassing as that is, hopefully it’ll help her get control of her powers in time to pass the test of the gods, continue training hard enough to qualify for the Pythian Games (the only sporting event bigger than the Olympics), and enjoy her godly boyfriend, Griffin, all while avoiding getting smoted for accidental misuse of powers!

It’s another fast-paced myth-inspired heroine’s quest that’s sure to bring out the goddess in anyone.

Review:

Move over Princess Mia, there’s a new misfit in town. And she prefers running shoes over tiaras.

Yes, it’s time for another edition of the wonderful world of Phoebe Kitanidis Castro (Thanks for catching that! Clearly, someone needs to proofread her reviews more closely), and her exciting life on the Greek island of Perfopolis. When we last saw Phoebe and the gang, she’d just decided to take another year in school and train for the Pythian Games, and also acclimatize herself as a newly-discovered descendant of Nike. Not to mention, to spend some extra time with her new, ultra-hot boyfriend Griffin, and try to get in some bonding time with her new buds Nicole and Troy. Phew!

It certainly isn’t going to be a piece of cake, though. For one, Phoebe’s home alone with wicked stepsister Stella. Who also happens to be one of her trainers at boot camp. Which happens to be filled with lots of overeager tween girls. And, on top of all of that, Griffin’s up to something secret with his ex Adara. And you know that never bodes well…

What I love most about Tera Lynn Childs’ writing is that it carries all that fun feel of teenage within, without losing or skimming over any of the authenticity of Greek history and the Greek lifestyle. You can taste, smell, feel, and see everything as if you’re right there on the Mediterranean coastline, with the white sand under your feet. Lovely!

It’s a good light read with lots of laugh-out-loud moments and even a few heartbreaking ones. Phoebe’s finally found her footing, and it’s now time to figure out how to deal with her new life, instead of floundering about. Her relationships develop, both at home and away, and the results aren’t always pretty.

The only issue I had here was the addition of some new characters and storylines without any real resolution to them all. I couldn’t quite digest the significance of Xander, in all brooding, dark glory… and there were things about Phoebe’s dad that just never made any sense in the end.

But I told myself there was going to be another book, of course, and I’d just have to wait and see… so, I went to go check when the next book was going to be out, and OMGs there isn’t one planned yet!

But… but… but I have so many questions! There’s so many loose ends to tie! I can’t be left hanging like this!

There’s still a lot of riddles to Nicole and Griffin’s past. And, man, I’m still staunchly on Team Troy, so I need that boy to get his happy ending. Is my love affair with this series over? Most certainly not.

So please, pretty please, go out and buy this and the prequel… and help me beg TLC to write another part to the series! =D

Rating: 3-crowns

5 responses

  1. Hi!
    This sounds really good, even though I read the review with my eyes shut (harder than in sounds) becuase I haven’t read the book yet but really want to!

    September 25, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  2. Phoebe Kitanidis

    LOL. This sounds like a good book. However, I feel pretty certain the heroine is NOT named “Phoebe Kitanidis.”

    September 25, 2009 at 7:58 pm

  3. I read Oh.My.Gods. and I loved it. Really loved it! Wah, is your review spoiler-free for Goddess Boot Camp? I didn’t read for fear that it might have spoilers for the 2nd book too. LOL. Anyway, can’t wait to read this one! 🙂

    September 25, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  4. I just finished Goddess Boot Camp! LOL. I agree, this book can’t be the end of this series! Hmm, I’m a rooting for a Troy-Nola pairing. 🙂

    September 28, 2009 at 9:44 am

  5. Did the incorrect principal parts of the verb “to smite” bother you? I’m starting to think that I am the only one to have noticed.

    November 12, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Leave a Reply

