.

BBAW: Feeding My Addictions

image

So I’m going to be honest here: I never fall for a book with one review or mention alone. This is, of course, not counting the times when Alea praises Lovestruck Summer, Going Too Far, The Season and Willow so much that she begins to sound like a broken record. You point and laugh, until you realize, “Oh, snap. She has a point,” and then vow never to question her taste.

But aside from extreme cases like that, I’m a hard nut to crack (emphasis on nut). I need a wave of overwhelming positive reviews all over the internetz before I can say to myself, “Hmm, okay Mya, time to stop thinking and rethinking this, and import those darned books.”

Which, usually, leaves a heavy dent in my already meagre wallet. Unless some awesome bloggers go above and beyond and help a poor, flagging international book-junkie out.

So I’m going to take this moment and thank ALL OF YOU – every single one – who reviewed the following two wonderful, fantastical books and made me opt for them. Because I wouldn’t have heard of them otherwise, and I’m so glad I did.

Perfect Chemistry – Simone Elkeles

Good girl, bad boy. White girl, latino boy. Rich girl, poor boy. Has there ever been such a perfect romance written especially for young adults? I can’t remember. A solid favorite all around, and with good reason!

If I Stay – Gayle Forman

This one still makes me feel philosophical enough to sit down and write pages and pages of thoughts and questions in my journal. Heck, it actually makes me write in the journal, period. Was there anyone who didn’t like this book?

Here’s a different question for the comments, though. I’m curious: has there ever been a book that was so hyped that you went out and got it, but then felt let down? Why?

4 responses

  1. Those ARE the ones you must read!

    September 18, 2009 at 8:14 am

  2. Uh, to answer your question: Perfect Chemistry? lol. haha! I dunno. I have had my fair share of let-downs *and* unexpected happy surprises. I suppose that’s all part of the experience of reading. 🙂

    And have I mentioned how much I loved your silly little cheerleaders on my BBAW post? xD

    September 18, 2009 at 9:10 am

  3. I haven’t met anyone yet who hasn’t loved If I Stay. Very different personalities too!

    September 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

  4. Oh, I loved Perfect Chemistry, trailer included! I haven’t read If I Stay yet, but I have only heard amazing things!

    And I agree – there are some awesome bloggers that you cannot dispute! 🙂

    Oh man, there have been several books that I have waited for, bought/borroweed, and felt disappointed. Oftentimes, downright swearing off books for a while, but then again I find that unexpected gem that jumpstarts my reading spree!

    September 23, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

