.

BBAW: Interview With Dreadlock Girl Reads

As part of the BBAW celebration this week, here’s an excellent interview with the lovely Bethany of Dreadlock Girl Reads. I personally loved her responses, and even got a couple of laughs out of them (I might forgive her for not knowing Imogen Heap someday! =D) but tell me what you think:
1. Tell us a little bit about you as a person – who are you and what
do you like to do/hear/read/eat?

As for “do” I really enjoy rock climbing -bouldering to be more exact. Before I had kids I’d do it for hours, it is intense. I like to hike, garden, hang with my family…all that fun stuff.
Music, I love music Feist, Morcheba, Brandi Carlile, Cindy Lauper, Ceu,Johnny Cash,Β  Enter the Worship Circle, Natalie Merchant….and so many more.
I enjoy many different types of books, I think I like a good story- one I can curl up with and laugh or cry about (both emotions in the same book are best!!). I like reading international literature the best though, but some times that gets too dark and heavy for me.
I love to eat my way around the world, Middle East to Asia, Asia to Europe, Europe to Africa and maybe back to my own continent. Quality is key, besides that I love most everything.

2. I just visited your site, Dreadlock Girl Reads, and I absolutely
love it. How did you start blogging? Where did the name/design come
from? [PS I totally heart your little browser icon!]

Thanks for visiting!!! I love new peeps πŸ™‚ For the name, I wanted something that I could carry over into other aspects of my life, so I toyed with “the dreaded reader” and I loved it, but I wanted to have my websites more linked and united, so I opted forΒ  Dreadlock Girl .com for the merging of Dreadlock Girl Reads and Dreadlock Girl Lives….it has worked well so far.
The design, well it is a tweaked version of ‘this just in’ template from wordpress. I designed the headers and all the images on my page…..it is just something I like to drive myself crazy doing!! πŸ™‚ I love images.
So stinkin’ excited you liked my icon!!!! I wanted a chicken…and it is hard to tell it is a chicken, but it is still cute. thanks for noticing.

3. Name the three most fantastic books you’ve read so far this year.

This year. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan, The Boy in Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne all were awarded my funky award: Stellar Five Chicken Award. I give that to books that I just love and I would recommend to a friend. Great reads for sure!

4. And three books to stay far far away from?
I didn’t like Miles from Nowhere by Nami Mun, Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult and Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.

5. If you could read books by just one author, see just one movie,
and hear just one band/artist for the rest of your life, which would
each be?

Author, C.S Lewis. Movie, (cheating here) Lord of the Rings Trilogy. Artist, Johnny Cash (fo sho!)

Okay, here’s a little bit of word association for you. No cheating!
Put down the first thing that comes to mind when I say:

Crush: Superman!
Monkey: Funky
Twilight: poo
Pudding: chocolate
Family: happy
Zac Efron: who?
Imogen Heap: what?
Maths: hate
Shampoo: natural
Bohemia: pretty
Love: bug
Life: game
Music: guitar
Books: read

Thank you, Bethany! =D Make sure to follow her blog at Dreadlock Girl Reads, and pay special attention to her browser icon πŸ˜‰

ETA: Find my interview at her website here. Am I the only one who finds herself sounding ridiculous out of context? =P Anyone else ever feel that way with interviews?

4 responses

  1. bluestockingbb

    I love your word for Twilight. BBAW Interview

    September 15, 2009 at 11:04 am

  2. I adore the word association part of the interview. What a creative way to show who an interviewee truly is. πŸ™‚

    September 15, 2009 at 1:11 pm

  3. I LOVE Johnny Cash – my 7 year old son can do a great impression of Ring of Fire! ~LOL~

    September 16, 2009 at 12:21 pm

  4. Who are Zac Efron, Imogen Heap anyway?? I forgot to ask you about that!!

    I just got a chance to re-read this. You did such a great interview. I especially loved the word association part. You are way creative-don’t kid yourself.

    September 25, 2009 at 12:56 am

Leave a Reply

