.

BBAW: Standing Ovation!

Well, then… it’s here. The week we’ve all been waiting for – especially those of us who didn’t think we did anything that deserved appreciation. Yes, darlings, it’s…

*\o/* Book Blogger Appreciation Week ’09! *\o/*

Now it hasn’t really been a long time since I started blogging, but ask me any time and I’ll tell you honestly – the people, the community, and all the wonderful blogs I’ve found in this short time are pretty much the reason why I get up in the mornings. So without further ado, I give you a small sprinkling of my personal favorite blogs, and I hope you applaud them and appreciate them as much as I do. Please note, these are in no specific order, and this list is far from conclusive. There’s way too many awesome ones to count for real.

Pop Culture Junkie by Alea

Yes, yes, all right. I know this blog has been nominated already. But it is IMPERATIVE that I started with Alea’s blog, simply because that’s pretty much where it all began. When I finally got serious about book-blogging, this is where I landed. And this is who I tried (quite unsuccessfully) to emulate. It boasts a clean layout, interesting features, well-written reviews, and an all-round nice person to boot. Bow down to Queen Alea, everyone!

Frenetic Reader by Khyrinthia

Oh, Khy. Now when I was a newcomer here in this big ol’ cyberworld – scared, lost and alone – I didn’t know who to turn to. Where to go. What to do. Ya know? And then I stumbled into a random little chatzy where Khy welcomed me and all my craziness with open arms. Life hasn’t been the same since. So if you’re looking for someone with a big heart, a fantastic sense of humor and a friendly face in the mean (snort!) world of book blogging, you know where to go. Just try not to insult anything remotely David Levithan, okay?

A Maze of Books by Senfaye

There’s not much I can say about Senfaye, except for the fact that this is one of the sweetest, most talented, and genuinely honest people on the internet today. And she’s adorable. And she’s a great resource on fantasy. And she’s a helpful critic/cheerleader. And I totally heart her. I mean, seriously, I wrote this girl a 56k word story the other day, and she didn’t even laugh at me. So check out A Maze of Books and go give this cutie a cyberhug!

Sharon Loves Books and Cats by Sharon

If it ever bothers you how sickly sweet and charming we are, and how much we seem like a bunch of rainbows and sparkles and kittens, go check out Sharon’s blog. Hard-hitting honest reviews, scary/strong criticism, and general kickass-ness… you do not want to get on the wrong side of this one. Oh, and there’s kittens anyway.

Ten Cent Notes by Jordyn

Probably the most precise, to-the-point, and smartest reviews in town, you can’t possibly go wrong with a Jordyn review. Plus, she’s one of the few of us whose words are in publication, and she’s a bonafide writer to boot, with what seems like a bazillion YA novels already done, and a bazillion more in progress. Where does she get the time?! No frills here, just straight-up analyses for your next pick.

Steph Su Reads by Steph Su

Yes, she’s been voted too. And rightfully so, for Best Writing. Because that is what she does best. Her reviews are an absolute delight to read, her features and interviews are fun and informative, and her special posts are insanely well thought out. I especially loved her posts on reading about characters of color. Go check it out, and tell her I said hi!

Books by Their Cover by Yan

The interviews. Oh, my God, the interviews. *laughs hysterically* This. Blog. Is. Hilarious. *falls off chair* Warn. Everyone. *hack* *hack* Can’t. Breathe. *dies*

The Epic Rat by Cecilia

Here’s another one I’ve been following from the early days. I have a certain weakness for black backgrounds, even though I think it takes an insane amount of effort to maintain a blog with one. Plus, officially THE most generous giveaways on the internet. Seriously, this woman practically THROWS books at you. Now that’s what I call a real YA-pusher. For books, silly.

Persnickety Snark by Adele

I am unashamed to admit that I have actual Adele posts printed out and pinned up above my writing desk, her resources are that useful. This wonderful blogger from down under is an absolute wonder, and she manages to bring together the entire community on any and all topics ever. Also known as the Sarah Dessen Diarist, in her alternate blog, she’s a fantastic source for all things Sarah Dessen (which are always awesome). Plus she’ll make you want to start a revolution against all publishers who try to ignore publishing books in Australia. Note to publishers: don’t even try it.

So that’s it for my edition of blogs that are amazing in every way. Obviously this is just a sampler, but for all of you out there who blog about one of the greatest pastimes on earth, help publicize the wonderful books we read, and make it all seem worthwhile, I thank you. You make my world, at least, a better place! =)

7 responses

  1. ooh yay! I love all those blogs 🙂 I’ve discovered some awesome blogs through everyone’s fave blog lists.

    September 14, 2009 at 6:08 am

  2. I have the chills, you are doing this to me! Ahh you are so so so soso so so sosoosso nice! WOW! *big hug to everyone*

    Thank you, you made my morning!

    September 14, 2009 at 11:09 am

  3. Oh man, can you please just copy Alea’s comment up there and pretend I said the EXACT same thing as well?? You’re awesome, Mya, and I’m so glad I’ve gotten to know you since blogging!!! *international hug!* 🙂

    September 14, 2009 at 12:47 pm

  4. khy

    eeeee! *hugs* You are AMAZING! <33

    And so true on the David Levithan thing. 😉

    September 14, 2009 at 6:40 pm

  5. That was seriously the greatest compliment I’ve received. Thanks so much for bolstering my flagging self-esteem. I am print-worthy…in the self-publishing, home printer way but it’s still very cool.

    Cheers!

    September 14, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  6. Oooooh thank you thank you thank you! You’re too sweet, Mya! Thanks so much for the shout out and for being so enthusiastic about me, my writing, and my blog. 🙂

    You win at life.

    September 15, 2009 at 4:14 am

  7. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

    September 18, 2009 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

