.

YA News, or Sometimes I Hold Back On These Things…

So there’s a bunch of stuff that’s been going on around the YA world, whether it’s brand new book deals, movie deals, upcoming series, or even some random stuff. And I’ve been sitting on these for a while, so forgive me!

First up, the movie adaptation of Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones is finally nearing release. Directed by Peter Jackson (of The Lord of the Rings fame), the movie features an all-star cast including Susan Sarandon, Rachel Weiss, … This is one release you won’t want to miss.

Next, I recently saw this trailer to promote Scott Westerfeld’s much-anticipated upcoming novel, Leviathan. It is epic, I tell you. EPIC.

And speaking of Scott Westerfeld, the author has revealed the brand new covers for his amazing New York trilogy, as redesigned by Rodrigo Carral (the man behind the gorgeous Uglies covers). I don’t know about you, but I’m quite eager to get my hands on these paperbacks as soon as I can find them somewhere near me.

Next up, we have some fabulous news for fans of Simone Elkeles’ Perfect Chemistry. The author has announced that a sequel to the hothothot love story, titled Rules of Attraction will be released in May 2010! I’ll keep updating you all as I get more, but for now, let us all unite in one joint joyful squee! OMG!

And finally, for those of you who are fans of The Mortal Instruments series, and were just as excited by Cassandra Clare’s announcement of the series being optioned as a movie, let’s begin speculation (well, around here anyway)! Tell me, who do you think should be cast as Jace, Simon, Clary, and the Lightwoods in the movie? Be as creative and unrealistic as you wish! =D

Leave a Reply

