.

Day 2: Practice Makes Perfect – Julie James

Practice Makes Perfect

All right, guys, gather round. It’s time for a special revealing of Mya’s deepest darkest secrets. Are you ready? Okay, here it is:

I’ve secretly always wanted to be a hotshot lawyer.

And yes, this embarrasses me. I’ve met real life lawyers, and hated most of them. My friends who are newly graduated paralegals are miserable. Heck, there is nothing more dreary sounding than the sort of things lawyers have to study in order to become lawyers. But tell all that to my hormones.

In my lifelong obsession with all things John Grisham or Ally McBeal, and later Jodi Picoult, there’s always been something about the world of law that’s drawn my fancy.

I guess it’s sort of like how my sister has her secret doctor fantasy, thanks to ER and Grey’s. Lesson to be learned: pop culture is a powerful thing during your impressionable years.

So when I came across the two books out by Julie James, of course I had to pick them up. I didn’t read the back too closely, nor did I stop to wonder if it was crap. It’s a sizzling romance between lawyers, how could I possibly resist?

It’s a good thing, because Julie James writes some seriously good stuff.

Practice Makes Perfect is the story of two ambitious lawyers, Payton Kendall and JD Jameson, both extremely able candidates angling for partner in the same law firm. She’s a staunch feminist who doesn’t let anyone underestimate her based on her gender. He’s a fancy prep-school groomed dude who’s led a privileged life.

There’s only one partnership spot and two of them. Needless to say, they’re not each other’s favorite person. Or are they? (dun dun DUNNN!)

Here’s the other twist though – they’re both called upon to collaborate on a very important case. And their performance on this case will be the deciding factor for the partnership. As Sookie Stackhouse would say, this is definitely an OSM (“Oh, Shit!” Moment).

So what happens? How do they deal with the heightened tension and feelings between them? Do the sparks fly? And most importantly, who gets the job?

You’ll have to read the book to find out – it’s full of surprises! Just a warning though – this is a little steamier than basic contemporary fiction, so avoid it if you’re not into that.

And while you’re picking this up, I also highly recommend Julie James’ other offering, Just the Sexiest Man Alive. All the same level of steam, only pitting a lawyer against a pretty-boy movie star. For your inner Chace Crawford/Brad Pitt/Matthew McConaughey fantasist. Yum!

3 responses

  1. Ooooh. Sounds exciting! Loving your feature!

    July 28, 2009 at 1:33 pm

  2. amy

    Sounds interesting! I like the lawyer in my sisters keeper too 😀
    -AMY

    July 29, 2009 at 1:31 pm

  3. Loved this book! Though I enjoyed Just The Sexiest Man Alive more. 🙂

    August 1, 2009 at 3:47 am

Leave a Reply

