.

Celebrating my freedom!

Hellooooo lovelies! I am back making lots of unscheduled posts for now, because my research project here is officially DONE and COMPLETED and FINITO! One long year of slaving away in an overheated research lab with faulty equipment, dried up chemicals and missing readings and I finally finished what I came for. It is such a huge relief, I cannot even begin to tell you how great it feels. Well, okay, I guess I can.

The project started out with three of us on it, but one person got married and one got a different, better-paying opportunity, so it ended up being just me and the sleazy, geezer-y boss/supervisor from hell. It was so creepy being around him that I started wearing my mother’s engagement ring to work. I kid you not. It was horrendous, he often tried to overstep the very thin line between appropriate and inappropriate, as well as hoisted many of his other projects on me as the need came. Not to mention the endless teaching sessions I had to cover, the tutoring sessions I held, and the number of students who were convinced I was the professor, not him. But I needed the work, and I needed the experience, and I needed the knowledge it gave me.

So I worked through it. I made the most of what life handed me. And I did it! With an awesome recommendation and a hardy determination to boot! It just goes to show, kids, that hard work DOES pay off. And all bad things come to an end just as easily as the good stuff does.

I literally almost started crying at my final poster session today. The directors and the deans gave me a sort of “Well, we really didn’t think you could do it, but good on you!” sort of a smile. And it felt like someone had handed me an Oscar. Me! I wrote it! I took all the readings and constructed all the plots myself! I know millions of other scientists have already done it, but I FEEL LIKE THE KING OF THE WOOORRRLLLDDD!!

And I know that a ten page illustrated report tentatively titled “The Effect of Obesity on the Cytochrome P450 Enzyme System“* probably won’t be hitting the New York Times Bestseller List any time soon, or make people line up for signed copies outside my door at midnight. Nor do I expect my name to be such a huge part of the paper itself, since Sleazebag is taking all the credit for this. But I feel accomplished. And for that, I am incredibly emotional right now.

Wait for a happy little giveaway later today celebrating my freedom!

PS If you don’t find that impressive, I at least deserve a standing ovation for the fact that I have been posting everyday for more than a week now. =P

* In a nutshell, it’s not good.
One response

  1. Hi 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!
    Congratulations on completing what seems a grueling task with problems I didn’t expect in this, the 21st Century, for women.
    You deserve to have the absolute best July 4th weekend ever!
    Love From Canada
    twitter.com/RKCharron
    xoxo

    July 2, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Leave a Reply

