.

They tried to make me go to rehab…

I have this disease. I’m trying to see someone about it. If you know anyone, please tell me. I’m desperate.

So you know how people have different ways of dealing with stress, right? Some people cry, or laugh hysterically, or go kill other people (I hear this isn’t the best outlet). Some eat like mad, some read, some freak out to angry chick music. Whatever, right?

My problem… is cooking. Or baking. It’s insane.

So it’s my final week as research assistant in this year-long project, and I’M FREAKING OUT!!! Because I mean, I didn’t really write a thesis in college… we had more of a work partnership program, and there was a group of us working on it. This has been my effort almost entirely, with very little direction. And I won’t get graded as either “good” or “awesome” and get rewarded with a degree anyway… there’s a possibility of “that sucked” in the mix, too.

None of that makes sense. I know.

So it’s major stress week (or weeks, seeing the pace around here), and guess what my mother’s done?

SHE HID THE DAMNED OVEN!!!

Hid it, I tell you! WHAT KIND OF MOTHER DOES THAT TO HER OWN CHILD?!?!

So obviously, I had to improvise. I need sugary desserts, and I need them now. So I turn to the woman I always turn to in my time of need (aka when my own blood turns against me *fumes some more at mom*)

The Domestic Goddess herself, Nigella Lawson.

SALVATION!!!

SALVATION!!!

So the whole point of this post is sharing the two recipes that have provided me with comfort this week (take that, Ma! HA!)

Can’t get enough chocolate? Try the raw-egg free, no oven required INSTANT CHOCOLATE MOUSSE

Cheesecake Ice Cream

Oooooh! Aaaaah!

Or maybe you’re in the mood for something to beat the heat… like this delectable CHEESECAKE ICE CREAM SANDWICH (no ice cream machine needed – managed this baby with a freezer alone)

BLISSSSS!

BLISSSSS!

Yes. Making these have kept me sane over the last couple of weeks. They work, and I think EVERYONE should try them.

Anyone have some more oven-free desserts to help me out with? And shut up, don’t mock me. Books are not a feasible escape right now =P

One response

  1. NOOO! Don’t tempt me!

    June 26, 2009 at 4:02 pm

Leave a Reply

