.

My Big Nose & Other Natural Disasters – Sydney Salter

The Blurb (from Amazon):

It’s the end of junior year, and summer is about to begin. The Summer of Passion, to be exact, when Jory Michaels plans to explore all the possibilities of the future–and, with any luck, score a boyfriend in the process. But Jory has a problem. A big problem. A curvy, honking, bumpy, problem in the form of her Super Schnozz, the one thing standing between Jory and happiness. And now, with the Summer of Passion stretched before her like an open road, she’s determined for Super Schnozz to disappear. Jory takes a job delivering wedding cakes to save up for a nose job at the end of the summer; she even keeps a book filled with magazine cutouts of perfect noses to show the doctor. But nothing is ever easy for accident-prone Jory–and before she knows it, her Summer of Passion falls apart faster than the delivery van she crashes. In her hilarious and heartbreaking debut novel, Sydney Salter delivers a story about broadening your horizons, accepting yourself, and finding love right under your nose.

The Review:

Oh man, I hate doing this. I’m just going to do this fast, like ripping off a band-aid.

The truth is, I didn’t like this book. I feel bad saying this because Sydney Salter was so kind as to send me a signed copy and everything (thanks to Yan’s April Fools’ Celebration). But I have to be honest, and the truth is that I just couldn’t get into it.

This is not to say that it’s a bad book. Not even a little bit. The writing is flawless, the characters are well-built, and there’s a very high level of depth in the story that you don’t see coming. I just had a hard time getting into it is all.

When I first heard the title of the book, I cracked up really bad, because it sounded like the story of my life. I’ve spent a lot of my life obsessing over the size and shape of my nose (and I’m pretty sure I win the Super Schnozz contest, hands down). But reading this, it just went a little further than what I could relate to. Jory spends a lot of time planning her big nose job, and flailing aimlessly from guy to guy, all of whom, frankly, sort of seem like complete prats. Add to that a pair of friends that I’d pick a life of hermitage over, and you’ve got a combination that had me a little irritated, to be honest.

I mean, I get it. She grows as a person, she finds a better outlet for her obsessions, and she finds meaning throughout the novel… but by the time she starts to figure it out and becomes someone to be more sympathetic towards, it’s already too late. Most of the events of the book are over, and I was already quite anti-Jory at that point.

Biggest plus point: it’s got great driving advice. I’m so much better at parallel parking. =D

I’d still highly recommend this to YA fans as a good summer read – just don’t go into it with expectations as high as the sky.

The Rating: 2-crowns

PS. Just because I didn’t like it doesn’t mean you won’t either. Watch this space, since I’ll be giving my signed copy away to one lucky winner!

One response

  1. HNH

    I recently read this also. I liked it but unfortunately it did NOT improve my parallel parking skills, which are sorely lacking. Maybe I should read it again.

    June 22, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

