.

When My Library Hits Hollywood…

Okay, since I’m being so slow with my reading (probably because I’m trying to read like 5 of them at the same time – patience never was one of my virtues)… I’m going to post the happy happy movie news that makes me happy.

First up: The trailer for The Time Traveler’s Wife (book by Audrey Niffeneger) is FINALLYYYY out. Can’t tell you how long I’ve been waiting (or how badly I sobbed when I read the book last year…)

I have the worst crush on Eric Bana, and Rachel McAdams is gorgeous… so I can’t really find anything wrong with this. Especially not the Lifehouse song that plays in the background – one of my all-time favorites. SO EXCITED!!! CAN’T WAIT, CAN’T WAIT, CAN’T WAIT!!! OVERUSE OF EXCLAMATION POINTS!!!

What I’ll probably be skipping though, is the adaptation for another one of my favorite books, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.

I know, it looks great and everything… but man… I can’t deal with the changed ending. I just can’t.

Okay, what else do I love that’s coming out? Oh yeah… I just found out at The Green Bean Teen Queen that Beastly by Alex Flinn is being adapted for the big screen!

Why I’ll definitely watch this: one of my favorite books AND Neil Patrick Harris plays the blind tutor. SUH-WEET!

Why I’m afraid to watch it: Vanessa Hudgens and Mary-Kate Olsen? Seriously?

Oh boy.

Also coming soon, adaptation for Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert! It already has Javier Bardem and Julia Roberts in the cast, but I’m just a little apprehensive. I mean, it wasn’t a whole lot of a story, if you know what I mean. Kind of like how He’s Just Not That Into You sort of failed as a movie, for me.

Okay… that’s all I have for now, I think. Everyone already knows about If I Stay (Gayle Forman) and The Forest of Hands and Teeth (Carrie Ryan), so I can’t really post anything until there’s some more updates up. And if anyone feels like rhapsodizing about New Moon and fursplosions, feel free to do so in the comments. Ditto for hormonal wizards in Half-Blood Prince (oh how I love that trailer!).

Tell me – what adaptations are you looking forward to? And what do you wish had never been adapted? =P

2 responses

  1. amy

    Time Trevelers wife movie looks so awesome!!! Will definitely be watching that one! Thanks for sharing the trailor, I was looking for it on YouTube a while back. I actully don’t like the cast choices for my sisters keeper. It’s just not who I pictured in my head…I rarely go to the movies, but since they’re based on books, I’ll probably give it a shot:-D
    -AMY

    June 13, 2009 at 7:53 pm

  2. I think Neil Patrick Harris makes up for all the other casting in Beastly-love him!

    And The Time traveler’s Wife-I hadn’t seen the trailer yet-awesome! I’m going to post that now and spread the joy. I’ve been waiting for that movie for forever!!!

    June 13, 2009 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

