.

My very non-BEA weekend

Just going to muse out loud about a few things before I go on with reviews and the like.

1. Welcome home to all the BEA attendees! I spent my weekend jealously reading all your tweets, until I randomly found Harmony and Khyrinthia‘s announcements of a little chat for all us cool cats (ew, I can’t believe I just said cool cats… I sound like my dad) who didn’t get to go. It was realllyyyyy late at night for me, but I thought, what the hell! It’ll be fun getting to know some of the bloggers beyond their reviews…

What an understatement! I think I adore everyone now.

Things discussed included: Sharon‘s drunk tweeting (it’s a revolution, you guys. Drunk texting is way out), the Dessen boys (Wes > Dexter > Owen in my opinion… what do you think?), tattooed boys (whom I usually love anyway, but no one else seems to), the monster cows (I’m still apologizing for the trauma!), new fun music (I’m totally addicted to Cobra Starship’s “Good Girls Go Bad“, featuring Gossip Girl’s Leighton Meester/Blake), upcoming releases (I’m  excited about some of the not-as-yet-released stuff, such as ’10 releases:

The Naughty List by Suzanne Young

My Way or the Highway by Trish Doller

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick (ETA: okay, this is now an ’09 release? confused! but stillexcitedyay!)

Princess for Hire by Lindsey Leavitt (You neeeed to see her ARC post. LOL!)

Scratching at the 8-Ball by Mindi Scott

Also, (OUT TODAYYY!!!) Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler. *waaaant*

Or even, you know, Catching Fire… *looks longingly at BEA pictures again*)

And, my very favorite topic of the night was… The Tenners! More on that in a minute.

Needless to say, I was up all night and well into the morning! =D I’m also happy to report that YA bloggers are all amazing. But don’t be fooled, they may seem perfect, but behind the scenes there’s deceit and drama, and… no, I’m kidding. We’re a happy bunch.

2. Now onto the Tenners! I was too late for all the Debs mayhem this year (although kudos to all the fantastic authors I’ve already read – you’re all brilliant!). But last night, Trish joined our little shindig online, and it was great fun talking to her. We interrogated her on her upcoming books, the inside world of publishing (you guysss, she’s represented by Daphne Unfeasible!), and of course, the other Tenners. SOOOO I started snooping around. Go follow them on Twitter (@TheTenners) or check out their livejournal (make sure you check out Trish’s roundup of the chat! =D). It’s going to be fun getting to know them this year. Plus, I’m totally stealing a quote from Trish to post here:

Teen bloggers are pretty awesome. They’re intelligent, articulate, and lots of fun to talk with.

— Trish Doller

Someday, when Trish is rich and famous, I’m going to look back on this and think, “I was there when this opinion was formed.” It’s going to be a great moment =P

And we all swore we’d make it to NYC for BEA ’10, so…

3. Can anyone please tell me how they manage to keep a day job, do course work, write books, read, write reviews for what they read, raise kids and also manage to be awesomely awesome? I can barely manage having four of those at once. I swear, some of you authors are superheroes. I want to grow up and be just like you.

Sigh, my research supervisor is a really mean old man who doesn’t like me much. I’ve only been around a year and he’s made my life hell. Now that he knows my work is almost done and I’m leaving, he’s being even more inconsiderate. So until he eases up/ chokes on his own phlegm/ mysteriously disappears into the night, I’m going to continue to read at my snail’s pace and write even slower. FORGIVE ME!

That is all.

Oh, and to all of you who asked, those monster cows are all muscle. Yum! =D

11 responses

  1. amy

    I know! It’s no fair that I live about 500 miles away from BEA! 😦
    I really want the naughty list too(love the cover and the plot line) plus catching fire(duh:-D
    -AMY

    June 1, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    • M. Rooney

      500 miles is a HUUUUGE advantage over what I have. Le sigh! I will make it back next year, I’ve decided. Will you be there, too? Make arrangements now! =D We’ll have a meetup!

      June 1, 2009 at 11:27 pm

  2. Had a lot of fun at BEA this weekend. Meeting Ann M. Martin yet again…meeting Julie Andrews…seeing (not meeting) R. L. Stine. Very cool. Sorry you couldn’t make it!

    June 1, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    • M. Rooney

      Ooooh all the childhood favorites! Little known fact – I went to the same college as Ann M. Martin. Yes, I totally paid attention to that fact when I was picking. =P

      Glad to see you had fun!!!

      June 1, 2009 at 11:39 pm

  3. suz

    I’m gonna try to go to BEA next year, and if I’m there…I’m buying cupcakes for all! Yay for cupcakes!
    🙂

    June 1, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    • M. Rooney

      Suz, I REALLLLLYYYYY hope to meet you there. I’ll buy you ten cupcakes if I do. That’s a promise!

      June 1, 2009 at 11:37 pm

  4. Great post Mya! You did a very good job summing up about what we talked about! You forgot to mention the whole likes and dislikes about YA books. And the 3 Tenners were so fun to chat with!

    Oh and after most people left, SARAH OCKLER came in. I was like SARAH!!!! LOL.

    June 3, 2009 at 7:34 am

    • M. Rooney

      LOL Kate, you’re right, I did forget to mention all that. It was fun.

      And… did I miss something? 3 Tenners? I thought it was just Trish! CONFUSED!

      I heard about Sarah coming… I think it was probably a good thing I was away. I would’ve embarrassed myself squealing! =P

      June 3, 2009 at 8:01 am

  5. *Blinks* Just Trish? You weren’t around when Tara and Suz came? Dude! They are Tenners too. =P

    June 3, 2009 at 8:02 am

    • M. Rooney

      GASP!!! I MISSED TARA AND SUZ TOO?!?! BUT I LOVE TARA AND SUZ! UPSET!

      June 3, 2009 at 8:09 am

  6. Mindi Scott

    Oh, my gosh! I’ve just now seen this post. Thanks so much for the mention!

    My title is changing soon. I’m not sure to what, but I hope to get an answer in the next month or… three. Will definitely let everyone know when I know something.

    Eeee! Thanks again. 🙂

    June 27, 2009 at 12:18 am

Leave a Reply

