.

Love, Rosie (aka Where Rainbows End) – Cecelia Ahern

Category: Adult | Contemporary | Romance

The Blurb:

(I’m actually going to skip this – too spoiler-y. I barely read the back myself before I picked this up, and I truly believe that’s how this should be read. Spoiler-free review coming right up!)

The Review:

“You know, you two have the worst timing ever . . . When will you ever learn to catch up with each other?”

I wasn’t the biggest fan of P.S. I Love You, to be honest. I mean, I know it had a lot of people in tears and everything, but the only time I felt even remotely moved by it was when the movie adaptation came out… and then too because they’d twisted the events a little and added Gerard Butler, Lisa Kudrow and Jeffrey Dean Morgan to the mix. Yes, I’m shallow like that.

But that didn’t stop me from picking up the other Cecelia Ahern books I’d seen on the bookshelves, if only because at least her plots have showed immense promise. And I wasn’t too disappointed after I picked up Love, Rosie.

The title made me a little afraid – not another long-distance communication story! But it’s a lot more than that. Somewhat reminiscent of the When Harry Met Sally concept with a dash of Serendipity, the story is about two people who are beyond just best friends, and how they grow together and apart over the span of almost fifty years. And of course, the story is told almost entirely in letters, emails, IMs (that are unnaturally long and winding) and greeting cards sent by, to, and about Alex and Rosie.

Of course, as every friendship, theirs is defined not just by their exclusive feelings for one another, but by the people that enter and leave their lives. Sometimes they’re held back by these people’s advice, while sometimes they choose not to take good advice. And a lot of the time, their entire relationship seems to be put on hold to make other people happy. It’s a case of bad timing all around… I’m sure you see where this is going.

It’s a rollercoaster of emotions, and you’ll find yourself rooting for Alex and Rosie, even while you’re frustrated at them. You’ll want to shake them and slap them and tell them to be together already, as they’re so clearly meant to be. The only person who seems to be able to express what idiots the two are is Alex’s brother Phil (who has a very minor role, but is clearly my favorite person in the book). The story is captivating and heartwarming, even if it does drag on for a bit.

Okay, understatement. Basically it reads a bit like “Awww. That’s cute. Wait, what?! Oh crap! OH CRAP! Oh, okay. Hmm. This will soon be over, right? 300 more pages?! Good Lord. Mmhmm. Yeah I get the picture. SHIT, WHAT? FINALLY! No, no, wait… there’s more…” They could’ve cut about 200 pages of drama out, and the ending would’ve felt a lot less anticlimactic – maybe even fun like Meg Cabot’s The Boy Next Door series, also told entirely in emails and IMs (and the occasional diary entry). But it’s a comfortable read, nevertheless. The characterization is surprisingly well done, despite it being told entirely in written communication. And a special kudos for all the “kiddie” messages that had me sniggering and giggling and cracking up to no end.

This one’s recommended to anyone who believes in happy endings, or just plain old fans of the best-friends-in-love concept.

The Score: 3-crowns

Leave a Reply

