.

The Awakening – Kelley Armstrong

The Blurb:

If you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl—someone normal. Now my life has changed forever and I’m as far away from normal as it gets. I’m a living science experiment—not only can I see ghosts, but I can raise the dead without even trying. Trust me, that is not a power you want to have. Ever. I’m running for my life with three of my supernatural friends and we have to find someone who can help us gain our freedom back before the Edison Group finds us first.  Or die trying.

The Review:

Yeah, I wasn’t kidding when I said this series was really hard to put down.

I sped through the first, and simply devoured the second. Thankfully this doesn’t end on as bad a cliffhanger as The Summoning did, so I think I’ll make it to the third book without suffering from heart failure or something.

It’s a really big challenge to write a sequel, and an even bigger challenge to write one that’s good. The Awakening doesn’t just meet expectations, but surpasses them, and Kelley Armstrong succeeds in adding more action, more drama, and definitely a whole lot more emotion into this second installment of the increasingly breathtaking Darkest Powers series.

The book comes back with the superkids much more empowered, and a whole lot more mature than the first book, if that was even possible. Gone are the days when Chloe dreamed about going back to school, because her world is irreversibly changed, as is she.

My favorite thing about this book? The added Derek-time. I’m definitely growing more than fond of that boy. And there are some developing relationships and growing feelings in book two. I’m not naming names, but thankfully the amorous feelings are not blatant, and there’s still a lot more plot to cover before the romance overtakes the story.

Where The Summoning highlighted the plight of mental health patients and the twisted system of diagnosis in the field, The Awakening revolves more around the personal development of these teens. They may be supernaturals that possess powers beyond the human scope, but they’re still normal kids going through puberty, with all the inherent awkwardness and other assorted issues who feel grossly misunderstood and underappreciated. And that is what truly appeals to its readers and helps them relate to the characters.

A marvelous piece of storytelling that leaves the reader aching to find out what is going on and what’s going to happen next! The Awakening is out now in all leading bookstores. Go grab a copy today!

The Score: 45-crowns

4 responses

  1. I can’t tell you how much I loved this book! I’ve been a Kelley Armstrong fan for like a decade and this series is one of her best. derek and Chloe have amazing chemistry and I lived for reading their interraction. I’ve read The Awakening 3 times already- I kid you not!
    great post! I love your blog.

    May 12, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    • M. Rooney

      Man, I know what you mean. This was my first Kelley Armstrong, but I’ll definitely be picking up others now. I’ve been eyeing the Nadia Stafford series for a while anyway!

      Thanks for coming by, Perla! =)

      May 20, 2009 at 4:16 pm

  2. The covers of this series are just so enticing! And after hearing all these great things about it, I’ll definitely have to check it out. Awesome review!

    May 16, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    • M. Rooney

      Hi Deltay! You simply must pick this series up – these are books that can easily be judged by their cover (if you love them like I do!) =D

      May 20, 2009 at 4:19 pm

Leave a Reply

