.

Refined Carbs for the Soul [1]

I’m generally known to be a happy, friendly, uber-social sort of a person. The life of the party, the friend everyone has, the one person who’s always awake for a late-night comforting session. It’s an innate thing for me: I function solely on the love of my loved ones and the laughter and tears that come with the package. Not quite a social butterfly, but close enough. And trust me, if you knew about the kind of trouble all this has gotten me into, you would know that I’m anything but bragging.

But there are some days (or, as in this case, weeks) when I’m just… not.

We’ve all had them. The days when you wish you lived in a shoe or under a rock – far, far away from all those motions we go through to give the illusion of a life. You don’t want to speak, hear, know, see anything. You avoid phone calls, you don’t answer the door, you send other people to run your errands for you…

Okay, fine, maybe it’s never that extreme for you, but I definitely have a really hard time of it when I do spiral into that “dark abyss of hermitage”. Probably because I spend most of my time on the other extreme, and I need to compensate for it somehow. It’s not quite chronic or frequent… more of a once in a decade thing.

Now I don’t know about you, but my cure for any form of the blues, serious or PMS level, is a book, movie or song that transcends time and age, and brings me back to stage-OK. I call them my “refined carbs for the soul” (Because these aren’t necessarily good for us, but psshhh, please… who even needs chicken soup anymore?).

So I’m starting a new feature here, called exactly that, where I’ll showcase one item that’s gotten me through many a hard day or night, regardless of its “nutritional” value, just because it feels like home. You’ll probably recognize most of what I showcase, or not, but I hope it gives you something fun to curl up to on your Sunday afternoons while you put off the Monday blues.

This week, I’m going to pay tribute to one of my very favorite comfort books of all time, Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin. This contemporary chick-lit tale bars all the clichés that come with the territory, and tells the story of a very real woman who sleeps with her best friend’s fiancé.

Hang on one second. Did I just call her a wonderful woman? Even after what she does? Well, yes, but hear me out. The protagonist in question, Rachel, is what we would call the doormat, or the “nice girl”. We know them, we probably are them, and we always finish last. Rachel and Darcy have been best friends since the beginning of time, and it has always been clear who’s who in their relationship. Which is fine, you know… Rachel’s used to the prettier, flashier, and richer Darcy getting her way. Until Rachel finds her perfect man in the form of Dex… the man Darcy is about to marry. And before you know it, the two fall into bed together, leading to the hilarious hide-and-seek that jeopardizes both an impending marriage and a lifelong friendship. Who ends up with who is a question that can only be answered by reading the book.

Something Borrowed brings up a whole variety of questions. What do you do when your best friend snags your perfect man? What happens when you cheat on said best friend with the love of her life? And above all, when does a friendship stop taking priority over everything else in your life?

A laugh-out-loud hilarious, and, at times, heartbreaking tale of one nice girl who refuses to finish last, and a dysfunctional friendship on the verge of cracking, this

book is a must-have for everyone’s who’s ever had a

“frenemy” or an evil stepsister. Read it, read it, read it. It’s sure to chase the blues away. And be sure to follow it up with the equally entertaining

Something Blue, also by Emily Giffin, for Darcy’s story. (More on that later)

Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

