.

Pools of Sorrow, Waves of Joy [1]

All right, all right, I don’t post often enough. And now I’m noticing this new “Blog Every Day April” trend. Now I’m wary of actually physically signing on to be a part of this, for fear that it may actually prevent me from being a regular post-er. But here I am, promising you, readers, that I will strive to post everyday in this fine month. No, seriously, I’m not Foolin’ you! I swear on the grave of my dead turtle Michelangelo (may he rest in everlasting peace), I will post everyday in April, and if I enjoy it enough, beyond that.

But they won’t just be any everyday posts. No, I’m going to go all out, give them a pretentious name and I’m going to throw out my favorite one-liners, thoughts, etc from books, movies, TV shows, advertisements, songs… but mostly books. Because (say it together now) no one ever accused Ms. Rooney of being normal.

So, people, watch out for the pretentious tag called “quixotic rhapsodies” because that’s what this will be. And without further ado…

Quixotic Rhapsody of the Day:

Growing up seems easier for men, maybe because their rites of passage are clearer. They perform acts of bravery on the battlefield or show they’re men through physical labor or by making money. For women, it’s more confusing. We have no rites of passage. Do we become women when a man first makes love to us? If so, why do we refer to it as a loss of virginity? Doesn’t the word ‘loss’ imply that we were better off before? I abhor the idea that we become women only through the physical act of a man. No, I think we become women when we learn what is important in our lives, when we learn to give and to take with a loving heart.

— Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Just Imagine

2 responses

  1. I truly enjoyed reading this article.Thanks.

    May 15, 2010 at 10:03 am

  2. Excellent work buddy, keep it up.

    May 16, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

